As of today, anyone trying to get into Ontario from Manitoba or Québec without a valid reason, will be refused entry. 

Interprovincial travel restrictions came into effect April 19, 2021 at 12:01 a.m. CST, following an announcement from Ontario Premier Doug Ford. On Friday, the Premier extended the stay-at-home order to May 20, 2021 at the earliest in an attempt to slow the spread of COVID-19 and its variants and put forth a ban on non-essential road travel from Manitoba and Quebec.

Enforcement officials are set up on roadways, at interprovincial points of entry, to screen incoming vehicles. All vehicles will be required to slow down as they approach the checkpoints. Commercial vehicles, such as transport trucks, will be permitted to pass. Ontario-plated passenger vehicles will be required to enter the checkpoint, but will be allowed to proceed. Officers will be screening incoming passenger vehicles with out-of-province plates to determine the reason for entering Ontario. Permitted reasons include, but are not limited to:

  • Live/work in Ontario
  • Health care matters
  • Indigenous Treaty Rights
  • Child care or custody matters
  • Transportation of goods
  • Those travelling through Ontario to another location

Out-of-province cottage owners will also be turned away, unless said cottage is their principal residence or they are travelling to prevent damage to their property.

Further specifics on vehicle border screening legislation can be found at

As required by the provincial Emergency Measures and Civil Protection Act, those not travelling for essential reasons will be refused entry.