Prime Minister Justin Trudeau will return as Canada’s Prime Minister in another minority government.

The Liberals have been projected to form the 44th Canadian Parliament. The Conservatives are likely to be the official opposition to the Liberal Party. 

Trudeau called a snap election last month, two years ahead of schedule, as he and his party were hoping to form a majority government with 170 seats. The gamble did not pay off for Trudeau after the pivotal 36-day campaign. Trudeau first came into power in 2015.

Minority governments typically last less than two years. They can be defeated when a governing party loses a vote on a matter of confidence, like a budget, in the House of Commons.

This is Canada’s 15th minority federal government. Although the Liberals hold more seats than any other party, Trudeau will need support from other parties to pass any legislation.

Stephen Harper led two Conservative minority governments from 2006 to 2008, and 2008 to 2011. Paul Martin led a Liberal minority from 2004 to 2006. If a minority government is elected, that would mean in the previous 21 federal elections, 10 of them have resulted in minority governments.